The 17 Day Diet Journal Day -1

 

Diary of a Fat Girl – Day 253

Visit http://www.barnesandnoble.com for purchasing

Tomorrow is the day I start this diet, and I am getting excited.

Today I created a vegetarian option menu following Dr. Mike’s guidelines and shopped for the approved foods. I spent $110.36 on healthy foods that will last the two of us for two weeks; our typical budget. We purchased plenty of fruits and vegetables like apples, pears, berries, carrots, broccoli, and brussels sprouts. We included in our purchases plain yogurt, low-fat cottage cheese, tilapia, Keifer, and sugar-free jam. Parmesan cheese even made the list!

However, I did miss a few items and will need to return to the store for those purchases. Not bad for a days worth of shopping!

I also made arrangements with my cousin to join her at the gym starting Monday morning. She’s been enjoying her Zumba class and I cannot wait to pick up Yoga and Pilates, again.

On another note, I was going through my pictures from our Frankenmuth trip a month ago, and boy, did I get fat! All that hard work and effort I put into losing weight last year just went down the drain. I am NOT happy!

As a reminder, Fat Me will be going back up on my wall to encourage Skinny Me to come out of my unhealthy shell.

Richie seems excited and apprehensive about this new diet. He loves his coffee, but cream and sugar (with the exception of Truvia) are not allowed in the first cycle. He fears that he will be on a “starvation” diet, and I reassure him that this diet allows liberal amounts of protein and “cleansing” vegetables.

Since the menu is printed and hanging on our fridge, and the food has been stocked, now all I have to do is stick to this diet and come up with a 17 minute exercise for tomorrow.

Maybe I should take a stroll around my new neighborhood.

One thought on “The 17 Day Diet Journal Day -1

  1. I’ve tried a lot of diets but I really like this one. Everything is simple plus you don’t have to go out and buy a lot of supplements or special foods as recommended by some authors of diet books. I really liked the idea of losing weight rapidly to begin. I just finished my first week and have lost 5 pounds. Also, the recipes are simple and declicious!! Not a lot of them, but that’s just fine. I don’t mind giving up carbs in Cycle 1 to lose the weight faster. Look forward to Cycles 2 and 3 though. Another plus is that you don’t have to measure, weigh and count. That in itself is extremely aggitating and I’m still starving with those mini portions.

    I also got the DVD but that will take some getting used to. The movements on this DVD are not repetitive enough and the cuing could be better. By the time I got done with one step they were already three steps ahead of me. Confusing. I ordered the 10 Days to a Better Body DVD (too high here) from another website and absolutely love it. One minute of cardio then one minute of toning. Fantastic cuing.

    Update: I’ve now been on the diet for 7 weeks and have lost 17 pounds. Must say I feel better already than I have in a long time. Just 13 more to go. Then I plan on following the maintenance plan.

Leave a Reply

