The 17 Day Diet Journal Day 1

Diary of a Fat Girl – Day 254
 

Visit http://www.barnesandnoble.com for purchasing

Pre-Breakfast: 1 cup of hot water with a squeeze of lemon

Note: This is a routine that is going to take some time to get use to. Typically, I would grab a cold glass of water in the morning. Today, I find the warm liquid goes down smoothly and the lemon tantalized my taste buds.

Breakfast: 3 oz. of plain yogurt, 1/2 cup of blueberries, 1 cup of green tea

Note: The plain yogurt did not settle well on my taste buds and often lead to a gag reflex. I was supposed to have 6 oz. of yogurt and 1 cup of berries, but I could only manage half of that. I’m typically not a breakfast person, so I think I did well today. Luckily, the yogurt is only scheduled twice a week. I think next time I will slice the strawberries and let that sit on my pallet first. Hopefully, the strawberries will balance out the tartness of the yogurt. I am use to the flavor of green tea and it was pleasant sipping on it after my breakfast.

Lunch: Salad with Iceberg lettuce, spinach, carrots, cucumbers, mushrooms, 1 whole egg, Bragg’s seasoning, 1/2 cup low-fat cottage cheese, 1 cup of green tea

Note: Eating healthy is not pretty. There is no salt, no sugar, and no fat to help liven-up the food and satisfy those cravings. There is, however, herbs! I sprinkled some Bragg’s Seasoning on my salad and it was better than ranch dressing!!

After lunch, Richie found a burst of energy. He proceeded to clean the wooden furniture with furniture polish. Then he paused, and moments later I heard what sounded like my cat coughing up a fur ball. I glanced over for the source of the gagging noise and discovered that it was my own husband. In full ADHD mode, he had finished polishing the furniture and decided it was the perfect time to pick that piece of carrot from his tooth. Unfortunately, he had quickly forgotten to wash his hands prior to the finger dive into his mouth. I stifled a chuckle and said, “You are not supposed to ingest toxins during the 17 Day Diet!”

Later, I decided to go to the grocery store for additional items and I discovered that I could not purchase Breakstone LiveActive Cottage Cheese at any of the grocery stores in the Port Huron area. In addition to my low-fat cottage cheese, I purchased Acidophilus Probiotic tablets. I also purchased more tuna and eggs, and was thrilled to finally put my hands on a marinara sauce in the health food section that was not only low-carb but also low-sodium. With the spring birds chirping outside my livingroom window everyday, I thought they would be hungry after a long winter and purchased some bird seed. My total bill today was $21.82.

I paid for my purchases in the lane that my cousin was checking out the items. She had asked me how I was doing on The 17 Day Diet. By this time, my bladder was full, again, and my only thought was how fast I could get home without getting pulled over.

“I have got to pee like a Russian race horse,” I blurted out.

“A Russian, huh?” She raised a brow.

“Yeah, I seem to be rushin’ to the bathroom, a lot!” My attempt at a lame joke was immediately followed by a hearty laugh, and we continued to chat as I was marching on the spot to the pee-pee dance.

When I reached home and put away my purchases, I began to feel light-headed. Then, I realized that it was time for a snack!

Snack: 1 apple

Note: When you haven’t had apples in a while, the sweet juices skip along your tastes buds like a young girl playing hopscotch on a bright summer day. It was delicious!

Dinner: Steamed asparagus, carrots, broccoli, tilapia, Bragg’s Seasoning and 1 cup of green tea

Note: I don’t like the smell of fish. In fact, being a girl from a family of fishermen, I have an aversion towards fish. After eating the steamed tilapia, I may endure the smell of cooking it (and my aversion) to devour this savory dish in the future.  It crumbled as you lifted it with your fork, and the steamed veggies were a great compliment.

It was a wonderful start to this diet and I am feeling more confident that I could commit to it for the 17 day duration. Now I am off to exercise for 17 minutes!

5 thoughts on “The 17 Day Diet Journal Day 1

  1. I saw your post and it made me smile heartily. I only saw your first post, so I’m wondering how you did. Did you complete all the cycles and if it is not too personal how much did you lose? I ask because I started the 17 Day diet on Jan. 6 2012. Today is my last day on Cycle 2 and as of this morning I lost 20 and some change pounds. Now before you congratulate me, let me tell you something…. Between the time I ordered the book (Oct. 29) and the day I started the diet I gained 20 lbs. I was anxious about starting, afraid of having to give up all the tasty foods I loved, and not sure about my will power to stick to the diet. In fact when I took the pre-start survey, I failed; I wasn’t ready to start the diet. So, I changed a couple answers to score enough to start the diet and I was off. And so were the pounds. My first day I cheated, I ate a little gravy, potatoes and beef, 3 tortilla chips and spinach dip, and buffalo chicken dip (lots of cheese). But I continued the diet as best I could. I transitioned into Cycle 2, having lost 14 pounds, and tried to adhere to the plan, but I also went back to work and my schedule made it difficult to prepare meals and not eat carbs after 2:00 PM. I had 1 week-end of controled cheating. I portion controled non-diet items and stuck to the rule stop when full. I’m starting Cycle 3 tomorrow, and I’m worried about portion control because I have been eating a lot of chicken and fish at one meal. I think if I start to gain weight I might jump back to Cycle 1 before I complete the next 17 days. It is my plan to start over after Cycle 3 anyway, because I figure I’m really starting “my diet” now that I’m back to the terrible weight that I started with when I first decided I needed a weight loss plan. By the way, I’m loving the diet and many of the recipes so far.

    • Christine,

      I’m so proud of you for forging through. I think I only completed about 10 days of the first cycle and I had to stop due to financial reasons. I absolutely loved the diet and what it did for me, but we are so dirt poor right now I could not afford to continue it. I walked away with some great and useful tips that when I am grocery shopping I now consciously select the healthier options for me. Rest assured that, when my household gets money rolling in again, we will be picking up the book and starting this diet, again. And I will be blogging about it once more. Keep forging ahead! I beleive in you!!!

      Stacy

  2. Pingback: The 17 Day Diet Journal Day 1 « Stacy N. Elliott's Blog » Lose Weight Central » Lose Weight Central

Leave a Reply

