The Journey Begins With Meditations From A Course In Miracles

“On not admitting pain – Nothing can hurt you unless you give it the power to do so.”

I have decided to start a journal to blog about my meditation experiences on a regular basis.  There are so many books, audio, and visual guides with various topics in which I could use as a tool in my own spiritual journey, and the first book I choose was Meditations From A Course In Miracles

Each meditation in this book is categorized by subjects with a simple quote and a picture.  I thought this would be a great start.  I start with a book, and I set aside about 15 minutes each day to focus on the subject at hand; a simplified form of meditation to find balance and inner peace in my life.

Today’s meditation had a picture of an individual exiting a dark corridor walking his bike into a lighted pathway.  It simply stated that I couldn’t get hurt unless I give pain the power to hurt me.

To be honest, I probably gave the lesson about five minutes of meditation when my mind began to wander.  Frustrated by the lack of progress, I set the open book on the coffee table and took a break to read another book.  Later, I glanced up from my book and settled my eyes on the picture.  In that brief moment it became clear to me. 

Often times, whether I am aware of it or not, I let people and situations hurt me.  A good example is my financial struggles.  Instead of keeping my power by saying “no” to another loan, I give it away to another bank that would potentially abuse my income potential and hurt my bottom line.  As the dollars dwindle in my wallet my stress levels increase.  With the loan lingering over my head, I would then start to worry about how I would pay my next utility bill; a snowball effect of debt that causes much anxiety in my life.  This anxiety affects my health and well being. 

By learning to take back my power will help me to decrease the pain of debt and increase the inner peace that I seek daily.  It may take me awhile to see the truths that I search for but I trust that this journey will help me to learn how to be a better person.

4 thoughts on “The Journey Begins With Meditations From A Course In Miracles

  1. Wow, Stacy. You hit on a big issue which has helped me this morning think about how I do this too. “Nothing can hurt you unless you give it the power to do so.” I guess the bottom line is we are all in charge of our lives, and the sooner we recognize this and take responsibility around it, the happier and more peaceful we will be. No one causes our suffering but ourselves. (But the good news is we can do something about it!!) Maybe heavy at first as we realize we need to step up to the plate and do some work, but empowering at the same time. Thank you for this blog.
    Love,
    Halusia

  2. You have no idea how powerful the meditation you posted has effected me today. It is the most beautiful birthday gift I received today! Almost magic Stacey. It has lifted me and given me power to embrace the uncertain journey that awaits me in the next few months. I now realize I have the power to stop the pain while at the same time embrace realistic alternatives and planning. Thank you for sharing.

    • I am so thrilled to hear that! I embarked on this journey to help myself, not realizing that I would be helping others in the process. Thank you for sharing your comment. I hope others will receive the same experience as you have by reading my posts on this journey of mine.

Leave a Reply

