The Person Standing Next to You is You

“On the holy encounter – When you meet anyone, remember it is a holy encounter.  As you see him you will see yourself.  As you treat him you will treat yourself.  As you think of him you will think of yourself.  Never forget this, for in him you will find yourself or lose yourself.” – Meditations From A Course In Miracles

 

To meditate on this gave me great pause for reflection.  I have heard similar words before but only spent seconds in this thought. 

It is amazing how easy we can mistreat others.  In my irritation, I tend to be mean, disrespectful and rude to others.  I know if someone were to treat me like that I would feel hurt, angry, and I would mistreat that person or someone else; a vicious cycle that never ends unless I stop it now.

When I began to view others as if I was seeing myself, I realized that all they really want is love and validation.

I was working at a job that had high levels of stress and put a strain on my own mental and physical health.  When I started working in the healthcare industry I was commended on many occasions about my compassion for others.  My last year working in the healthcare industry, I noticed that my compassion was dwindling.  I still had it, but my patience was wearing thin and I became prone to meltdowns.  I knew it was time to move on, despite the fact that I loved my employment and referred to my co-workers as my second family.

It was a tough decision, but it gave me a chance for reflection.  A chance to heal my wounds, to become that compassionate person I once was, and to search for that inner peace and balance that I seek.  Now, I strive to see everyone as if I were to see myself and reassure them of the love and validation that I, too, seek.

It’s a slow process, but I’m learning. I even apologized to my husband for an outburst that should not have happened.  I also find myself conscious about the words that come out of my mouth.  This is a good thing!

2 thoughts on “The Person Standing Next to You is You

  1. I’ve been facing the fears of my inner demons as I unbury the past through my writings. One thing that has helped more than anything is to see myself in everyone that I meet, pass on the street or experience in memories.

    Your post really touched my heart and meant so much. Thank you for sharing and inspiring others with your words.

    Blessings, Joan

    • I discovered my purpose in life is to help inspire others through my experiences, as long as I am not afraid and I allow myself to show my true self. Thank you for your kind words. It makes me feel confident that I have chosen the right path for myself.

Leave a Reply

