Stuck in the Middle of Life

cropped-hpim4269.jpg

It’s time for a writer’s update.  Since many of you are wondering if I ever finished that book by May 12th.  Truth be told… No.

Life happened.  That’s it.  It’s as simple as that.  Life took over my schedule and demanded 100% of my attention.  There was no wiggle room to even think about my characters and what they will get into next.  I could no longer put off things in Life, just as I had been, to write this book.  Like a two year old child, Life was dancing circles around me and screaming out, “Me, me, me!”

Frustrated with this whole thing, I finally tucked Life neatly into a corner and corralled it for a while.  Now, I have more time to focus on my book.  I picked up my writing schedule, made a few adjustments, and plowed ahead – with loftier goals.  I pummeled two chapters yesterday and was gearing up the third when my kids said that they were hungry.  (Yes, they have to eat.  My parenting skills would suck if I didn’t feed the children.)  I had clocked in over eight hours of writing and thought what a good idea it was to actually eat something for the day.

Today, I was about to plow through two more chapters.  But, as I sat down and stared at the blinking cursor on my screen, and reread my notes for the 14th time, I could not figure out how to start the chapter.  I went back and reread the previous chapter.  It geared me up and I was excited to write more.  Then, I sat staring at that damn cursor, again.

Maybe it’s just a bump in the road.  Maybe I just need some nutrients.  Maybe I just need to write something else to activate my brain cells.  Therefore, I am writing to you about my progress.  It’s official.  I am stuck in the middle.  I know exactly where the book will go from here, but I cannot find the words to kick-start the chapter.

Do not worry, my friend.  I am determined and almost done writing this book.  After posting this, I will go back to that cursed blank screen and punch out something.  No matter how terrible it may sound.  (It is the first draft, after all!)  I have seven more chapters to write.  All of it is adrenaline-filled, action-packed chapters.  To which, I am sure you will not be disappointed.  And, with my new goals set, the first draft will be finished in just one short week.

In the meantime, kudos goes out to my family and friends for their love and support in my writings.  And, a big thank you to you, my friend, for your patience and understanding during the tedious writing process and the tantrums that Life likes to throw my way.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Stuck in the Middle of Life

  1. When you’re blocked, it’s very hard to sit and think and walk around and think about what to write next. What I do is keep a separate writing file for each project. Call it a diary, but it’s not something I write in every day. I do use it to have conversations with myself, to capture ideas I have or to analyze why I’m having trouble. This formalizes the issue and you have a record of all ideas you’ve had about the story. Trying to keep that all in your head for longer than 10 minutes is really impossible. As long as you’re writing stuff in your log or diary, you’re writing. And when you’re not writing but thinking, you’re also writing. Sometimes the idea of a writer’s block can be a way of telling yourself it’s okay to not write today. Which, of course it is. But if you’re thinking about ti, you’re writing. I keep my smart phone handy during the day and if I get an idea I quickly text it into my notes app. When I sit down to write I check the app and use the diary to debrief myself as to what it means. At some point you’ll be ready to go back to your manuscript and write some new stuff. Stick with it. There are so many people who say they’re going to write a book but never do. You are the real thing, a writer who writes. That’s very cool. Good luck.
    Pat
    BTW: Thanks for visiting AHintOfLight.com

    • Thank you, Pat! Your encouraging words help me see the blessings of writing. I guess I do write all the time in various forms. I just get so darn frustrated when I am not able to sit at my computer and hash out that next scene that has been playing in my head for weeks. Lately, I have been taking a notebook with me to the kids’ doctor appointments or when we go to the park or beach. I have been writing details of my surroundings, the funny things the kids say and do. This helps me to be aware of the details (and have a reference) when I am at my computer. At one particular appointment, I was floored to have written 2 1/2 scenes in one sitting! Now, I never leave without that notebook. Thank you for your ideas. They are truly helpful. 🙂

  2. I finished my book after many years of having to put it aside because life happened and I had to tend to my family first. The good news is that I did get it finished and found a publisher. Don’t give up. When there is time, you will be relaxed enough and the words will flow. Blessings to you…

    • Thank you and congrats on your book, Carol Ann! Your words give me hope and fuel my passion to push through this roadblock. It is great to know that I am not the only one struggling with Life issues. 🙂

      • Indeed, you are not the only one struggling. Life issues seem to be killing us softly, but they also make us who we are, and they breathe life into our writing. God may be preparing you to help others in their journeys through your writing.

Leave a Reply

