The Joys of Rereading

1452137_10200765004556104_1264886572_nMy mother is a speed reader, and she has this uncanny habit of rereading her favorite books over and over, again.  There are a couple of favorite authors that she enjoys reading and would often venture out of her comfort zone to read new and exciting books; periodically landing her a new favorite author.

When I was young, I could not understand why she reread books.  She had explained to me that her ability to speed read would give her a great story in such a short time frame, but she missed details that she would find in a reread.  These details gave her a new perspective each time she reread her favorite books, and it gave her a sense of a new story on a familiar playground.

I have always bulked about rereading books.  My excuses were many.  One reason was that if I were to reread a book I would miss out on new adventures waiting for me in millions of unopened novels.  Another reason not to reread was that once I read it I would always remember what I read.  In other words, why bother reading it again if I knew what will happen?

It has been about seven years since I read Garden Spells and over fifteen years since I had read The Oath, but I considered them my favorites.  I discovered within the reread of these books that there were many details I had forgotten.  And, it was like revisiting a much-loved place, but experiencing a brand new adventure all over again.

Now, I am finding the joy of rereading my favorite novels.  I can’t wait to pick up my other favorite reads.  It’s like home is calling for me to experience what I once loved and to stay awhile to revisit old haunts and cherished romances.

If you are in a slump, or just tired of reading one bad novel after another (especially my Kindle/Nook friends), I encourage you to pick up your favorite books, dust off the covers, and crack open the spine once again.  There are treasures waiting for you to reclaim!

Leave a Reply

